Shuffle iT Forum

Dominion => Bug Reports => Topic started by: JW on 08 August 2019, 12:16:58 AM

Title: Captain played as Border Guard reveals only 2 cards
Post by: JW on 08 August 2019, 12:16:58 AM
I was playing Captain as Border Guard, with the Horn, and it only revealed 2 cards. Playing Border Guard worked fine to reveal 3 cards. Game #29417160 on frankfurt

J plays a Border Guard.
J gets +1 Action.
J shuffles their deck.
J reveals a Bazaar and a Patron.
J gets a Coffers from Patron.
J puts a Bazaar into their hand.
J discards a Patron.
J plays a Captain.
J plays a Border Guard.
J gets +1 Action.
J reveals a Graverobber and a Patron.
J gets a Coffers from Patron.
J puts a Graverobber into their hand.
J discards a Patron.
Title: Re: Captain played as Border Guard reveals only 2 cards
Post by: dane on 08 August 2019, 07:37:06 PM
I was playing Captain as Border Guard, with the Horn, and it only revealed 2 cards.
That's because Captain plays a Border Guard from the Supply, so that Border Guard is not yours, so does not benefit from Lantern's wording "Your Border Guards reveal 3 cards and discard 2." (my emphasis)
Title: Re: Captain played as Border Guard reveals only 2 cards
Post by: JW on 10 August 2019, 07:44:44 AM
Thank you! I didn’t realize.
Title: Re: Captain played as Border Guard reveals only 2 cards
Post by: Ingix on 10 August 2019, 10:22:51 AM
It's not a very intuitive interaction, because most people internalize Lantern as being applicable when they play a Border Guard. It's mostly the same, but in rare cases (Captain, Necromancer, Band of Misfit, Overlord) it's not.
Title: Re: Captain played as Border Guard reveals only 2 cards
Post by: JW on 25 September 2019, 12:04:16 AM
Thanks for the errata, this confusing interaction will soon work differently: http://forum.shuffleit.nl/index.php?topic=3767.msg16319#msg16319

The new wording for Lantern is: Border Guards you play reveal 3 cards and discard 2. (It takes all 3 being Actions to take the Horn.)