Shuffle iT Forum

Dominion => General Discussion => Topic started by: grahsand on 28 August 2020, 11:54:46 PM

Title: Way of the Worm & Battlefield
Post by: grahsand on 28 August 2020, 11:54:46 PM
Battlefield states when you gain a victory card get 2 VP. When you gain an Estate through Way of the Worm, you don't get the VP. Why is that?
Title: Re: Way of the Worm & Battlefield
Post by: jsh on 29 August 2020, 02:01:18 AM
Exiling is not gaining!
Title: Re: Way of the Worm & Battlefield
Post by: grahsand on 31 August 2020, 04:00:43 AM
When you exile an estate you receive the victory points for it, so even though it is not going into your deck you are gaining it, otherwise you would not receive the victory points for the estate.
Title: Re: Way of the Worm & Battlefield
Post by: kieranmillar on 31 August 2020, 08:58:22 AM
The official Menagerie rulebook is clear:
Quote
Exiling a card from the Supply is not "gaining" the card, and will not cause "when you gain this" abilities to happen
Title: Re: Way of the Worm & Battlefield
Post by: Ingix on 31 August 2020, 10:23:32 AM
The main misconseption is that cards actually can "go into the selection of cards that count as yours" without being gained, via several methods.

Try a bot game and put a Duplicate on the Tavern mat. You will not be prompted to gain a copy of a card in the following cases:

1) You get passed a card via Masquerade.
2) You get to your hand a Fortress you just trashed.
3) You exchange a Bat for a Vampire.
4) You exchange a a $3+ card you gained for Changeling (you get prompted for the gained card, but not the Changeling).
5) You set aside a card for Inheritance.

There are some more, even more rarely happening cases.

Exiling a card from the Supply is just another way to have this happen, and as kieranmillar's quote of the rulebook shows, it's quite intentional. The same has been said about exchanges in the Adventures and Nocturne rulebooks.

It feels strange for Exiling because most of the other effects are usually just one card's effect, and quite a few cards/landscapes can exile from the supply. But it is still not gaining, so Battlefield will not trigger.