Login  |  Register

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - Ingix

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 36
1
General Discussion / Re: Android Compatibility?
« on: 20 January 2018, 07:06:36 PM »
The site not fully showing (and buttons being lost in the area 'below') is a problem. I'm not totally sure why it happens.

About the orange border: That is a fallback mode for the reorder window. In case you have problems moving a card, you can just click/touch it and it will exchange places with the orange card. If you can move the card for more than a few pixels, this border vanishes.

2
Support / Re: Playing with Friends
« on: 19 January 2018, 11:46:36 PM »
At the moment a private table is not possible. The answers in the giant feedback thread may influence if that will change.

How to do it anyway: Make sure that you mark each other as friends in the game. Then sombody (the host, whose card selection will be used) has to start a table ("New Table", then "Create Table", make sure to adjust the max player count). Then all that player's friends see that player in the Matching tab, where they can join the game (first as spectators, then as players). If somebody else joins in the meantime, the host can kick them off the table, maybe with a short explanation before ("Waiting for friends").

The option with the bots (as explained by blamelewis) would be another way.

If you have more questions, feel free to ask.

3
Connection Problems / Re: Cant start a match
« on: 18 January 2018, 09:35:18 AM »
I just want to add that another player on discord also described the same problem, so that maybe this is not some isolated glitch.

4
Thanks for reporting this, OvertAnglerfish!

It's a known problem (see Long username obscures the VP counter), but that doesn't make it any less bad.

5
General Discussion / Re: Undo Request
« on: 16 January 2018, 07:09:08 PM »
Yep. Possibly with an arrow pointing to the decision to be undone. Unfortunately, sometimes several decisions are on one log line (like if you play all your Treasures one by one), so this may still be error-prone.

6
General Discussion / Re: Undo Request
« on: 16 January 2018, 01:40:25 PM »
Again markus beat me to it. The undo was *not* about changing which card to name for Rebuild to skip, or even to play something else.

Rebuild had started, found the Duchy as the next card and trashed it, then asked IanP which card to gain. This is what the undo was about, he wrongly choose to gain the Estate, most probably because everything happened so fast that he still thought this click was about selecting which card to skip.

This highlights an UI problem with undos: It may not be totally clear to the players who have to grant/deny it to which point in time an undo request is supposed to rewind the game.

About the players's reactions:
It was (as always) blamelewis's right to deny the undo, but the argument of "new information was revealed" doesn't hold, IMO, but this may have been a mistake on his part, as I explained above.
The chat reaction of IanP (if I assume the log protocol from blamelewis is essentially correct, but that can be verified, if necessary) is not OK, using (even mild) insults is not right, even in the heat of the moment. I can understand that he was frustrated, but it *should* have been expressed in a better way.

7
General Discussion / Re: Undo Request
« on: 16 January 2018, 10:56:12 AM »
This is yet another reason why I don't ever want to see "new information" be a criterion for automatic denial. This undo had nothing to do with the information revealed; it was simply a misclick/interface issue.

I think the intention was that "no new info" becomes part of an "automatic grant" for an undo.

8
General Discussion / Re: Android Compatibility?
« on: 16 January 2018, 10:49:44 AM »
Soon (TM). Don't get your hopes up that much, it's a smell step, nothing more.

9
General Discussion / Re: How Donate is intended after last card bought?
« on: 15 January 2018, 11:03:33 PM »
I just followed the link, to read the explanation under Donate.
...
Conversely, if two piles are empty and a player buys Donate, and uses its effect to trash Hunting Grounds, thus emptying the Estates, the game will not end until the end of the next player's turn.

But, given this, the second Rules Clarification seems bizarre to me.  I play Donate, trash Hunting Grounds, empty the third pile of Estates . . . BUT, that does NOT end the game???  The next player gets an extra turn???? 

What is the rationale for this exception?  Are there other edge cases where a game should be over (Prov empty; 3 piles empty) but another player gets an extra turn?

This is not an exception. If the game ahould be over is checked *once a turn has ended*. Then and only then is it checked if the Province or Colony pile is empty or 3 piles are empty. If this condition is true at any other time, it doesn't matter.

If you empty a pile, but manage to put at least one card back into it before the turn ends (say with Ambassador, or an Encampment, or you exchange a Page for its upgrade), it is irrelevant that it was empty. Now that same also applies for the time between turns. That you emptied 3 piles in the time between turns doesn't concern the game. The check was done at the end of your turn (which was before the Donate effect), so the game continues until the next time that check is due, which is at the end of your opponent's next turn.

10
General Discussion / Re: Bug??? Courtier + Werewolf
« on: 15 January 2018, 10:16:36 AM »
Thanks for the info, and now it's clear that that was indeed a game by you (and unrated, as you assumed).
What I guess happened is that you played several games against a bot, and since they aren't really talkative, the chat window was probably holding messages about you starting multiple games, and when you copied the number you chose the wrong one (probably a previous one).

I totally believe you that you found an error, because, as you say, having an Action afterwards is a consequence of getting all 4 effects of Courtier. But just as you and Markus did, I also tried to replicate the problem and couldn't.
I'll see if I can somehow find the game number anyway.

Again, thanks for reporting this!

11
Card Bugs / Re: Enchantress doesn't stop top decking effect of Herbalist
« on: 15 January 2018, 12:45:12 AM »
That's actually correct.

Enchantress changes what happens/is executed when a card is played. But the card is still played, it still goes into play and so still has all the "While this is in play" effects, that are usually below a horizontal deviding line.

So while Herbalist did not provide +1 Buy and +$1, it still has the ability to topdeck a treasure.

12
General Discussion / Re: Bug??? Courtier + Werewolf
« on: 15 January 2018, 12:39:22 AM »
The problem with the game number you give is not that it doesn't load, it is that it contains neither Courtier nor Werwolf, and the player name isn't anything near "josh bornstein".

Was that game a rated game? If so, it should be locatable on Dominion Scavenger. But it doesn't find a player "josh bornstein" at all.

13
General Discussion / Re: How Donate is intended after last card bought?
« on: 15 January 2018, 12:25:54 AM »
Yes, AFAIK the DonaldX posting here is the 'real' one. Maybe he will comment.

14
General Discussion / Re: How Donate is intended after last card bought?
« on: 14 January 2018, 10:32:29 PM »
It's rather hard to decide what was "intended", especially with so many cards around. I think Donate's effect had to be moved to "between turns" because of the interaction with Possession. As such, it simply doesn't happen any more after a game ending condition is satisfied when a turn is over. Same with a Mission or Outpost turn, etc.

15
General Discussion / Re: Card order, after multiple Princes???
« on: 12 January 2018, 11:21:51 AM »
I can confirm that the game actually implements option 4. It's rare that you get enough 'time' in the game to buy und use 2 Princes, but it happened to me once or twice (Lord Rat often gives you the time if he is choosing one of his less brilliant strategies).

And just to be sure, josh: You know you can select which cards are used in the Kingdom when you start your own Table? So you can play a few games with Prince, if you want, without the need to wait for the random chance to get one.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 36