Login  |  Register

Recent Posts

Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10]
91
Card Bugs / Re: Known Card Bugs
« Last post by Ingix on 04 November 2019, 11:49:54 AM »
Modifications in November 2019:

  • 19-11-05:
    • Added Mining Village/Villager bot bug that freezes the game if a bot plays Mining Village and has Villagers and no other Action cards in hand.
    • After the recent errata for (previously) "shapeshifting cards" (Band of Misfits, Estate under Inheritance) I cleaned up their bug list, all of them are gone now (with the execption of a small UI problem). Also looked at other bugs where I know that the implementaion has changed to recheck if the bugs are still there (some yes, some no).
  • 19-11-28:
    • Added Crown/Scepter bug that freezes the game if you play Crown --> Scepter --> same Crown --> (doubled) Treasure in your buy phase.
92
Dominion Online Championship 2019 / Finals Match and the duel for 3rd place
« Last post by Ingix on 04 November 2019, 10:24:38 AM »
The Finals of the 2019 Dominion Online Championship will be played between

RTT and Freaky


and starts on

Saturday, 9th of November, 19:00 UTC = 2PM EST = (Nov., 10th) 4AM JST



The duel for 3rd place will be be

Mercury444F vs. ospond


and will be fought

Sunday, November 10th 14:00 UTC = 9AM EST = 11PM JST
93
Card Bugs / Re: Inheritance with Highway
« Last post by Ingix on 30 October 2019, 11:54:25 PM »
Hi njaudette, thanks for the report.

What you are missing is a recent errata for few cards that used to be "shapeshifters" (they became more or less some other card for some time). That includes Inheritance and the way it changed Estates. You can find the complete post and explanation here: http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=19893.0

Let's look at both the old and new text for Inheritance (text in italics is out of date)

Quote
pre-errata:
Inheritance: Event, $7
Once per game: Set aside a non-Victory Action card from the Supply costing up to $4. Move your Estate token to it. (Your Estates gain the abilities and types of that card.)

Quote
post-errata:
Inheritance: Event, $7
Once per game: Set aside a non-Command Action card from the Supply costing up to $4. Move your Estate token to it. (During your turns, Estates are also Actions with "Play the card with your Estate token, leaving it there.")

The important part for your question happens in the parenthesis. In the pre-errata version your Estates gained the types and abilities of the card. That included the ability of the Highway to reduce costs while in play.

In the post-errata version,
  1) all Estates are affected (even your opponent's), but only on your turn, and
  2) Estates only become Actions in addition to what they already are but don't gain any abilities besides to play the set aside card.

That means in your case, the Estate while being played or being in play is not reducing any cost. But, of course, the Estate will play the Highway that is set aside. The Highway will give you +1 Action/ +1 Card (as you experienced). But the ability of the Highway to reduce cost is bound to it being in play:

Quote
While this is in play, cards cost $1 less, but not less than $0.

And if you read the text of Inheritance, you'll see that the Highway will not be put into play when the Estate plays it (that's by design).

So what you experienced is correct post-errata. The Highway is played, but not in play, so the "below the line"-part doesn't kick in.

For the wiki, they have changed the (un)official FAQ at the top, but apparently not all the strategy tips, which in this case was correct but is no longer.
94
Card Bugs / Inheritance with Highway
« Last post by njaudette on 30 October 2019, 09:24:13 PM »
Hello, I encountered an issue using inheritance with highway. I used a highway to reduce cost of highway to 4, then set aside with inheritance. However, estates produce +1C, +1A but do not adjust the cost of cards. I checked through the inheritance page (http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Inheritance) and this strategy is specifically listed as a viable option in an example game.

Am I missing something? Thanks!

Game#32173744
95
General Discussion / Dominion Scavanger
« Last post by katie_mi on 30 October 2019, 06:27:03 PM »
Is it no longer working or is the server in California?
96
Support / Re: How to renew my subscription
« Last post by Ingix on 30 October 2019, 09:01:25 AM »
When you log into the game, the rightmost tab is "Store", where you can buy a Silver subscription (half the exapansions) or a Gold subscription (all the expansions) for time intervals from 1 month to 1 year.

If you want to see which expansions you are currently subscribed to (and when they will run out), you can do that in the "Account" tab (to the left of "Store").
97
Support / How to renew my subscription
« Last post by dcresap on 30 October 2019, 05:17:17 AM »
Where do I go to renew my subscription?
98
General Discussion / Re: Dominion 2019 Errata and Rules Tweaks
« Last post by Ingix on 29 October 2019, 09:42:58 AM »
Inheritance: Event, $7
Once per game: Set aside a non-Victory Action card from the Supply costing up to $4. Move your Estate token to it. (During your turns, Estates are also Actions with "Play the card with your Estate token, leaving it there.")

Under the old and the new rules, when you buy Inheritance, you take a Militia card from the Supply and put it 'aside' and your Estate token onto it (see first sentence above). That has not changed. You do not put the Estate token on a pile or something similiar.

So if the Milita pile becomes empty, that is not a problem, the Militia your Estates now play is safely set aside, and AFAIK there is no way to move it away from the position.
99
General Discussion / Re: Dominion 2019 Errata and Rules Tweaks
« Last post by josh bornstein on 29 October 2019, 01:21:22 AM »
Ingix,
With this new change; what happens now if you designate a card for Inheritance (let's use Militia as an example), it works fine as the game progresses, but then--over time--all the Militia cards are bought out?  Under the old rules, this is no problem...you designated Militia back when there was 1+ Militia cards still left, and so you can continue to play Estates as Militia even after that pile is depleted.

But under the new rules, will Inheritance still work?  Does the fact that your Inher. token is on Militia 'trump' the fact that there are no more Militia available?
100
Interface Issues / Re: Game starting when I am not ready
« Last post by AdamH on 29 October 2019, 12:29:16 AM »
Well umm. When I click ready I have the expectation that the game will start exactly as I want. I don't want the terms to change and then be surprised to find i've started a rated game that I didn't consent to.

The client's behavior should definitely be changed. It's beyond me why anyone would want this behavior.
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10]