Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Inheritance+colonade doesn't give vp.  (Read 225 times)

Offline luser

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Inheritance+colonade doesn't give vp.
« on: 07 May 2017, 01:17:13 pm »
In recent game I inherited market square to get easy vp from colonade. But buying estate doesn't give vp nor does buying market square if estate is in play.

Offline tufftaeh

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
Re: Inheritance+colonade doesn't give vp.
« Reply #1 on: 07 May 2017, 01:45:24 pm »
Inheritance doesn't change the name of the card. So you don't get Colonnade VP for buying a Market Square if you have an Estate in play (but no Market Square) and vice versa.

Offline luser

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Inheritance+colonade doesn't give vp.
« Reply #2 on: 08 May 2017, 10:54:41 am »
problem is that estate is action so I should get vp for buying estate.

Offline Ingix

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 201
    • View Profile
Re: Inheritance+colonade doesn't give vp.
« Reply #3 on: 08 May 2017, 02:09:00 pm »
I *think* you should get Colonnade VP if you buy an Estate if you have an Estate *in play*. But I stress that I'm unclear on this and would like confirmation/counter opinions from others on this.

As tufftaeh explained, there is no "cross-gaining" for buying Estate while Market Square is in play. In your initial description it was unclear if "buying Estate while Estate was in play" was something that happened.

Offline therem.harth

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Inheritance+colonade doesn't give vp.
« Reply #4 on: 08 May 2017, 02:49:30 pm »
Hi,

The way I read the two events, you will never get Colonnade points since buying an estate is not buying an action. Estate becomes action when it becomes yours, but you cannot buy something that is already yours, so the condition on Colonnade "When you buy an Action card,..." is not satisfied. You are buying a non-action card, which becomes an action card upon you gaining it.

atakan

edit: I stand corrected per tufftaeh's message below. There is a rule clarification about Colonnade in the wiki, dealing specifically with this case.

Offline tufftaeh

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
Re: Inheritance+colonade doesn't give vp.
« Reply #5 on: 08 May 2017, 05:10:30 pm »
Actually, according to one of the stranger rulings from DXV, the on-buy effect of the inherited action card *is* triggered when you buy an estate. So the estate is already yours at that time and it is an action card, too. For reference, see the wiki: http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Inheritance and/or http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Colonnade.

Offline Ingix

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 201
    • View Profile
Re: Inheritance+colonade doesn't give vp.
« Reply #6 on: 08 May 2017, 05:43:58 pm »
I just confirmed that buying an Estate while Estate is in play (Inheritanced Market Square) does not give you Collonade VP. In game #3435054 at decision 77 I have played an Estate/Market Square and 2 Copper this turn. If I now buy an Estate, the Colonode VP stays at 8, and I don't get any VP chips.

I agree that the ruling is a bit strange IMO, but it is otherwise implemented very well. If you inherit cards with Overpay, for example, this will be triggered when bying an estate.

Offline Watno

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 272
    • View Profile
Re: Inheritance+colonade doesn't give vp.
« Reply #7 on: 08 May 2017, 11:14:29 pm »
see this discussion: http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=17164.0
TLDR: I'm pretty sure it's a bug

Offline Donald X.

  • Dominion Designer
  • *****
  • Posts: 103
    • View Profile
Re: Inheritance+colonade doesn't give vp.
« Reply #8 on: 09 May 2017, 12:01:20 am »
Actually, according to one of the stranger rulings from DXV, the on-buy effect of the inherited action card *is* triggered when you buy an estate. So the estate is already yours at that time and it is an action card, too. For reference, see the wiki: http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Inheritance and/or http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Colonnade.
Correct. The first thing that happens is the Estate becoming yours; then we check for when-buy triggers and Colonnade would trigger if you had an Estate in play.