Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Bug: Stonemason gaining potion cards inconsistently  (Read 681 times)

Offline themann64

  • Unconfirmed
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Bug: Stonemason gaining potion cards inconsistently
« on: 26 July 2017, 07:47:30 PM »
When activating the Stonemason mechanic where you overpay to gain two action cards of the value overpaid, the card SOMETIMES allows potion card purchases.  Here's what happened:

Set had Stonemason and Apothecary.  My opponent purchased a potion, I did not.  When he purchased the Stonemason with 4 treasure and 1 potion, he was able to overpay and get two Apothecaries.  Later, I purchased a Stonemason with 4 treasure and 0 potion, and the Apothecary was not listed as an option for me to gain from the Stonemason.

As the card text says nothing about "purchasing" the bonus card, I don't think that whether or not you have a potion in play should matter.  I don't know if the official dominion rules allow you to gain a potion-costing card from Stonemason or not; typically those special gaining abilities EXCLUDE potion costs, but I don't know for sure in this particular case.  Either way, the treatment of the Stonemason card should be consistent:  Either "gain a card costing more than this" always includes potion cards or it always excludes potion cards, regardless of whether or not you have a potion in play.

Offline jsh

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 209
    • View Profile
Re: Bug: Stonemason gaining potion cards inconsistently
« Reply #1 on: 26 July 2017, 07:53:23 PM »
When activating the Stonemason mechanic where you overpay to gain two action cards of the value overpaid, the card SOMETIMES allows potion card purchases.  Here's what happened:

Set had Stonemason and Apothecary.  My opponent purchased a potion, I did not.  When he purchased the Stonemason with 4 treasure and 1 potion, he was able to overpay and get two Apothecaries.  Later, I purchased a Stonemason with 4 treasure and 0 potion, and the Apothecary was not listed as an option for me to gain from the Stonemason.

As the card text says nothing about "purchasing" the bonus card, I don't think that whether or not you have a potion in play should matter.  I don't know if the official dominion rules allow you to gain a potion-costing card from Stonemason or not; typically those special gaining abilities EXCLUDE potion costs, but I don't know for sure in this particular case.  Either way, the treatment of the Stonemason card should be consistent:  Either "gain a card costing more than this" always includes potion cards or it always excludes potion cards, regardless of whether or not you have a potion in play.

You are just incorrect, sorry. You do need the Potion to be in play in order to purchase cards with a Potion cost with Stonemason. Stonemason gains cards with the EXACT cost that you overpay, meaning 2+Potion for Apothecary. There is no ambiguity to that. It's true that Dominion has a variety of different wordings that affect this case (Forge vs. Upgrade for instance) but in this case the text is very clear.

Offline jeebus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 213
    • View Profile
Re: Bug: Stonemason gaining potion cards inconsistently
« Reply #2 on: 31 July 2017, 08:27:59 PM »
Overpaying entails paying. You need to be able to pay exactly what you want to overpay. It's exactly as when you buy a card: You need to pay the cost.

In order to gain Apothecary via overpaying, you have to pay the cost of the card, which is $2 + [potion]. The only way to pay [potion] is to have played a Potion. (It doesn't matter if the Potion is still in play, it could have been trashed with a Counterfeit for instance.)