The public message about "slow playing"

Previous topic - Next topic

jeebus

I read the message and I thought great, everything sounds fantastic. Well, except... "Slow playing" is defined a little vaguely and I hope nobody reads it and thinks it means just playing slower than they would like...

Ok, I started playing, and sure enough, on my third game (of course when it looked like I was going to win) my opponent starting complaining that I was too slow. The last turn I had drawn my deck and there was Pligrimage, so I had used a minute or two to think. Before then I had played at the same speed as my opponent. They referred to the message about "slow playing", said that I surely always played like this, and was going to blacklist me.

Of course I already sometimes encounter these kinds of people, but I think the vagueness in the message will legitimize their thinking (for them). I don't know if there is anything to be done about this, but is it possible to be more clear about what "slow playing" actually means?

Stef

Maybe not the kind of answer you're looking or, but you could type in chat "thinking" when you need to take a while during a game.

At least that's what I do myself, and it feels like a polite thing to do that would prevent this kind of misunderstanding.

AdamH

I thought the message was worded well enough, just my two cents, and I realize I'm probably one of the more skeptical people around here.

I actually am impressed with the system message feature, it looks pretty good. I have a couple of questions/suggestions:

1. Is there any way for me to view my system messages in the client, after the first time they come up? I looked in all of the tabs and I couldn't find one. There was a button that said "mark as read" and another one that said "delete" which kind of implies I'd be able to look at them somewhere, but I couldn't find it.