Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Weird options in game log when trashing Cultist during double Possession  (Read 54 times)

Offline Felix

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Hi, made an account to report this bug. I may stick around, though!

Long story short:

1. I play a Procession, trash a Possession to play it twice
2. During the first Possession turn, I play a Ratcatcher, which is placed on the Tavern mat
3. At the beginning of the second Possession turn, I call the Ratcatcher to trash a Cultist for +3 cards (ezthegreat kindly pointed out this possibility to me during a previous Possession when I chose to trash a victory card instead)
4. I am given the following cryptic options in the game log:

Quote
You trash a Cultist and...
DRAW_INSTRUCTIONS
put on mat Possession

I chose DRAW_INSTRUCTIONS and it drew 3 cards for me, as expected.

I have no idea what "put on mat Possession" would do.

If I understand the rules correctly, I should not have had a choice to make; trashing a Cultist is an automatic +3 cards.

----------

Full log of the relevant turns, with the odd game log options inserted:

Quote
Turn 18 - Felix
F starts their turn.
  F plays a Procession.
    F plays a Ratcatcher.
      F draws a Cultist.
    F puts a Ratcatcher on their Tavern mat.
    Procession loses track of Ratcatcher (it moved).
    F plays a Ratcatcher again.
      F draws a Possession.
    F gains an Oracle.
  F plays a Procession.
    F plays a Possession.
    F plays a Possession again.
    F trashes a Possession.
  F plays a Procession.
    F plays a Cultist.
      F draws 2 Coppers.
    F plays a Cultist again.
      F draws a Cultist and a Ruined Market.
      F plays a Cultist.
        F draws a Copper and a Ratcatcher.
    F trashes a Cultist.
      F draws an Estate, an Abandoned Mine and a Ruined Library.
    F gains an Artisan.
  F plays a Silver and 3 Coppers.
    F buys and gains a Duchy.
F draws a Copper, 2 Silvers and 2 Ruined Libraries.

Turn 18 - ezthegreat [Possession]
  e plays a Ratcatcher.
    e draws a Gold.
    e puts a Ratcatcher on their Tavern mat.
  e plays a Cultist.
    e draws a Silver and a Cultist.
    e plays a Cultist.
      e draws a Copper and a Ratcatcher.
  e plays a Silver, a Gold and a Copper.
  e buys a Duchy.
  F gains a Duchy.
  e shuffles their deck.
  e draws a Silver, a Gold, a Province and 2 Cultists.

Turn 18 - ezthegreat [Possession]
e starts their turn.
  e calls a Ratcatcher.
  ----------
  You trash a Cultist and...
  * DRAW_INSTRUCTIONS <-- chose this one
  * put on mat Possession.
  ----------
    e trashes a Cultist.
      e draws a Copper, a Province and a Cultist.
      e sets a Cultist aside.
  e plays a Cultist.
    e draws 2 Provinces.
    e plays a Cultist.
      e draws a Duchy and a Cultist.
      e plays a Cultist.
      e draws a Silver and a Ratcatcher.
  e plays 2 Silvers, a Gold and a Copper.
  e buys a Duchy.
  F gains a Duchy.
  e draws 2 Coppers, a Silver and 2 Provinces.
  e returns a Cultist to Discard Pile.

Offline markus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
    • View Profile
When there are 2 effects happening at the time, you can choose the order according to the rules. In these cases, the interface asks you to choose at the bottom of the log.

In your case, the two effects are
1) drawing 3 cards
2) set aside the trashed card, because you're possessing

In this case, of course the order doesn't matter and you could click either first.

Offline Felix

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Ah, I understand, thanks!