Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Nocturne with Bots  (Read 351 times)

Offline PLEChicago

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Nocturne with Bots
« on: 18 November 2017, 12:23:35 AM »
How do I play Nocturne with Bots?  I show that I can play Nocturne, but Nocturne Preview is marked false with Bots.  Last night, I was playing Nocturne with a real opponent, and would like to practice with the bots.

Offline markus

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
    • View Profile
Re: Nocturne with Bots
« Reply #1 on: 18 November 2017, 12:44:32 AM »
"Nocturne Preview" is a relic from the preview phase, which you can ignore.

If you have a subscription to Nocturne you can:
1) New Table -> Create Table
2) Select Kingdom Cards: either select the Nocturne cards that you want to play with and/or the sets that you want to play with
3) Add Bot and click Ready

Offline PLEChicago

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Nocturne with Bots
« Reply #2 on: 18 November 2017, 01:38:49 AM »
Hmmmm.... I suppose it might just be a matter that random selection is not coming up with Nocturne cards.  However, I have tried a few games with just base, promo, and nocturne selected, and I'm still not getting Nocturne cards.

Offline jsh

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile
Re: Nocturne with Bots
« Reply #3 on: 18 November 2017, 01:59:48 AM »
Hmmmm.... I suppose it might just be a matter that random selection is not coming up with Nocturne cards.  However, I have tried a few games with just base, promo, and nocturne selected, and I'm still not getting Nocturne cards.
Go to your familiar cards tab and mark nocturne familiar.

Offline PLEChicago

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Nocturne with Bots
« Reply #4 on: 18 November 2017, 02:05:28 AM »
Nocturne is marked as familiar.  If I select a table with only Nocturne cards, I get an error that more cards are required.  If I add base (both base and nocturne checked), all I get are base cards.

Offline PLEChicago

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Nocturne with Bots
« Reply #5 on: 18 November 2017, 02:13:22 AM »
On the "score" page (where it shows who won and other data), it does show that Nocturne has been selected, but those cards are not coming up for play

Offline jsh

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile
Re: Nocturne with Bots
« Reply #6 on: 18 November 2017, 02:17:10 AM »
Did you actually buy nocturne? You have to update your gold subscription to very it.

Offline PLEChicago

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Nocturne with Bots
« Reply #7 on: 18 November 2017, 02:26:02 AM »
It's another 38.67 EU just to play Nocturne?!?!?!  I thought we were supposed to be grandfathered in from the previous game.

Offline jsh

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile
Re: Nocturne with Bots
« Reply #8 on: 18 November 2017, 02:40:42 AM »
It's another 38.67 EU just to play Nocturne?!?!?!  I thought we were supposed to be grandfathered in from the previous game.

Your subscription from the previous game only lasts until the end of December. If you go to update the subscription now, it defaults to subbing through some time in 2018. You can set it to the end of December to see the "difference" it costs to add Nocturne under your current subscription.

Offline PLEChicago

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Nocturne with Bots
« Reply #9 on: 18 November 2017, 04:55:43 AM »
To clarify, the subscription rate is $40+ USD per year?!?  I don't object to a fee, but that seems really steep.

Offline josh bornstein

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
Re: Nocturne with Bots
« Reply #10 on: 18 November 2017, 07:50:31 AM »
I HAVE upgraded to include Nocturne.  But the same problem.  I read that the "Nocturne--false" message can be ignored.

But no explanation for why no Nocturne cards ever come up randomly.  If I go into Nocturne and select one or more cards, then they do come into my game.  But nothing from Nocturne ever comes up randomly.  (Yes, all the expansions are enabled, including Noc.)

Since Nocturne makes up between 5-10% of all Dominion cards, at least one card should come up every two games (give-or-take), by chance.  I just played 10 bot games, and not a single Nocturne card came up--other than when I 'forced' it, by selecting specific Noc cards, of course.  Statistically, this is almost impossible to happen by pure chance.  So, there seems to be some software bug going on, which is preventing Nocturne cards from showing up randomly.

Anyone else experiencing this?  Anyone able to get the occasional random Nocturne cards when playing Lord Bot?  When playing another real player(s)???

Offline josh bornstein

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
Re: Nocturne with Bots
« Reply #11 on: 18 November 2017, 08:35:01 AM »
UPDATE:
1.  I tried deselecting kingdoms, until only 3 were left (Base, Seaside, and Nocturne).  Never could get a Noc card.

2.  Re-edited, to also get rid of Seaside.  Now, it DOES work (ie, with only Base + Noc, there is a random mix of cards from both sets). 

3.  Went back and added a 3rd kingdom.  Again, did not get any Noc cards.

Hmmmm . . . Interesting.

Offline markus

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
    • View Profile
Re: Nocturne with Bots
« Reply #12 on: 18 November 2017, 08:51:12 AM »
Are you sure that Nocturne cards are marked familiar in case your table options respect familiar cards?

Offline josh bornstein

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
Re: Nocturne with Bots
« Reply #13 on: 18 November 2017, 07:59:24 PM »
Marcus,
Yes, I am sure.

Note that it does not work properly when all kingdoms are enabled.  It does not work when only 3 kingdoms (including Nocturne, naturally) are selected.  But it DOES work when only two kingdoms are selected.

Weird.

Offline markus

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
    • View Profile
Re: Nocturne with Bots
« Reply #14 on: 18 November 2017, 10:58:30 PM »
It's just doesn't match any experience that we had so far. Can you just try to start / resign a couple more games against the bot to confirm that it's not just a small sample?