Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Hamlet not giving “both” discard options  (Read 252 times)

Offline Pcoip

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Hamlet not giving “both” discard options
« on: 19 December 2017, 06:48:37 PM »
When I play Hamlet, it gives me the option to discard one card for +1 buy or +1 action.  But it doesn’t give me the option to discard two cards to get +1 action and +1 buy. Am I attempting the play this card Incorrectly or is this a bug?  It’s happened in multiple games this morning. Seems like it used to give the options I was expecting in the past.

Offline Ingix

  • Global Moderator
  • ***
  • Posts: 651
    • View Profile
Re: Hamlet not giving “both” discard options
« Reply #1 on: 19 December 2017, 07:44:34 PM »
The interface for Hamlet has changed, as you noted.

When you want to discard for both effects, choose "Discard for Action", the select the card you want to discard (for +1 Action). Afterwards you will be given the option to "Discard for Buy".

It's a bit more cumbersome this way, but it allows correct interactions, as the discards are now consecutive (as they are supposed to be) instead of simultaneous (as before).

In all cases, you can just continue playing cards from your hand if you don't want to use any (more) discard effects of Hamlet.

Offline Pcoip

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Hamlet not giving “both” discard options
« Reply #2 on: 19 December 2017, 08:11:57 PM »
Thank you for the explanation.  I was able to navigate the card effects successfully in my next game.

Offline josh bornstein

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
    • View Profile
Re: Hamlet not giving “both” discard options
« Reply #3 on: 22 December 2017, 02:12:40 AM »
It is still confusing.  On my screen (Firefox), both options show up on my screen, with Action above Buy.  But NOTHING indicates that you have to choose Action first if you want to pick both.  I wanted to do both, but happened to select Buy first.  And that resulted in the end of that action.  It was easy to use Undo to correct this bug/poor design.  But something should make it clear that you must address discarding to get an extra action *first* if you want to end up getting both Action and Buy.  Even something as simple as adding "1st" to the 'Action' text and "2nd" to the Buy text would probably solve the issue.

Offline Ingix

  • Global Moderator
  • ***
  • Posts: 651
    • View Profile
Re: Hamlet not giving “both” discard options
« Reply #4 on: 22 December 2017, 09:26:41 AM »
Good remark, josh. It may be clear for somebody that knows the card text 'by heart' that the discard for Action happens first, but if you are new or just not that focused at the moment, an additional reminder might be a good idea.

How about naming the second button "Buy only"? That seems to confer the meaning as well, at least to me.

Offline TheSeal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: Hamlet not giving “both” discard options
« Reply #5 on: 23 December 2017, 06:53:54 PM »
Good remark, josh. It may be clear for somebody that knows the card text 'by heart' that the discard for Action happens first, but if you are new or just not that focused at the moment, an additional reminder might be a good idea.

How about naming the second button "Buy only"? That seems to confer the meaning as well, at least to me.

I agree with Josh and like your solution.

Forum needs a way to up vote replies. That would have been more efficient than me replying to this thread.

Offline Cave-O-Sapien

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 192
    • View Profile
Re: Hamlet not giving “both” discard options
« Reply #6 on: 28 December 2017, 11:15:27 PM »
I agree that this is very confusing, even to someone with a lot of plays under their belt. It's not a mistake I will make any more, but it feels like the confusion could be avoided.

Offline Ingix

  • Global Moderator
  • ***
  • Posts: 651
    • View Profile
Re: Hamlet not giving “both” discard options
« Reply #7 on: 30 December 2017, 04:54:02 PM »
I added this on top of the known interface issues.