I just have to chime in on this.
Edit: added portion after initial post
Let me preface my remarks by saying that I have read the wiki entries and understand what it says there,
"Other Rules clarifications
You first play Band of Misfits, then you play it again as the card you chose to emulate
BAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHhhh maybe it all DOES Make sense, I'm still posting this...I...just..can't...done.
*/Card text for BoM:
"Play this as if it were a cheaper action card in the Supply. THIS IS THAT CARD until it leaves play". <my emphasis added>Card text for Overlord:
"Play this as if it were an action card in the Supply costing up to 5. THIS IS THAT CARD until it leaves play". <my emphasis added>Card text for Conspirator:
"+$2. If you've played 3 or more Actions this turn (including this), +1 Card and +1 Action."Peddler card text:
"During your Buy phase, this costs $2 less per Action card you have in play, but not less than $0."Let's assume the following scenario:
I open my turn by playing an Overlord and choose Mystic. Next I play a Conspirator, giving me +$2. Questions:
(A) Assuming I play no more Actions, and Peddlers are in the Supply, how much will they cost during my Buy phase?
(B) Do I also get +1 Action and +1 Card from playing the Conspirator?
To answer (A), we need to know how many Actions I have in play during my Buy phase. To me, unlike question (B) above, this is a very easy answer. It seems quite clear to me that I have 2 Actions in play. Peddlers would therefore cost $4 during my Buy phase.
- Do I have an Overlord in play? - NO
- Do I have a Mystic in play? - YES
- Do I have a Conspirator in play? - YES
To know the answer to (B), we need to know how many Actions I have played this turn.
- Have I played an Overlord this turn? - No/Maybe (tricky part)
- Have I played a Mystic this turn? - Yes/Maybe? (tricky part)
- Have I played a Conspirator this turn? - YES
For question one, what does, "Play this as if it were" mean? Does it mean act like you're a Mystic, but really you are still an Overlord? The latter portion of the card text clearly states that, while in play, it's literally NOT an Overlord, but a Mystic (meaning of the word IS for you 90s American politics fans).
Executing the meaning of the command "Play this..." literally means to put in play
(what else can "play" mean?). Therefore, if I put a card in play, "as if it IS" a Mystic, what have I done except played a Mystic?
Given that when in play, the Overlord card is no longer an Overlord, but a Mystic, we can say that the Overlord which was in my hand has transformed at some point into a Mystic. The heart of the matter seems to be, when does this transformation take place?
What does it mean to "have played" a card? For me, the answer can only be that to play a card means to put it in play
. By this definition, it's very difficult to "play" an Overlord (or BoM). The only scenario in which you can have an Overlord in play
is if there are no eligible Action cards in the supply for it to transform into. IMHO, that is the only scenario in which one could have an Overlord in play
. How then could we assert that I have played an Overlord in our scenario above? I can't.
Looking forward to your feedback.