Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Can replaying an old game please use a new random seed  (Read 265 times)

Offline kevinb9n

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Can replaying an old game please use a new random seed
« on: 12 August 2018, 07:35:28 PM »
I had a game where I opened Warehouse/Moneylender (then Silver and some 5-cost terminal). Then this awful thing happened: I had a Warehouse turn where I had only Copper to discard, then I had a Moneylender turn with no Copper! I thought, wow, that is terrible, but what are the chances of that occurring?

I wondered how the game might have gone otherwise, so I replayed it a few times and the same exact thing happens every single time. Clearly the game has chosen a specific random seed already and is using it every time.

Can it not do that?

Offline josh bornstein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 251
    • View Profile
Re: Can replaying an old game please use a new random seed
« Reply #1 on: 13 August 2018, 01:55:00 AM »
I don't think the game currently has this (but I can see how it would be a great new feature--to try different combinations to see what works best)

But there might be a workaround.  You still have that game (number) saved, right?  All you have to do is reload that game, write down each card in the kingdom, and then create a new game with those cards.  I am hoping that this will "reset" things so that you have a new game. 

(If Dominion, instead, looks at your kingdom and says to itself, "Hey, that's exactly game 1234567 at Tokyo!", and loads that game, then the workaround will not work, I presume.) 

Please post back here and let us know the results.  There definitely have been games where I say to myself, "I wonder--would I have won if I had gone traditional instead of Duke/Dutchy?" or other strategic decisions like that.

Offline Cave-O-Sapien

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 225
    • View Profile
Re: Can replaying an old game please use a new random seed
« Reply #2 on: 14 August 2018, 12:31:08 AM »
Note that recreating the kingdom based on the cardlist has some limitations, such as Knight ordering, Bane card, Druid Boons etc.

Offline kevinb9n

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Can replaying an old game please use a new random seed
« Reply #3 on: 06 September 2018, 07:32:27 AM »
It seems like this was fixed. Thanks!

Online markus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 653
    • View Profile
Re: Can replaying an old game please use a new random seed
« Reply #4 on: 06 September 2018, 09:28:54 AM »
There hasn't been any change here.

There are some tricks to get around it:
-) if you're not playing the bot, you could pass your first two turns each to sort of start the game with a fresh shuffle.
-) already playing your treasures in a different order or playing more treasures would slightly change the order of cards when they are shuffled the next time.

I think it's nice to be able to replay games with the same seed for endgame puzzles. But there are those situations when you would want a new seed, so it would be a nice advanced option for loading games.

Offline kevinb9n

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Can replaying an old game please use a new random seed
« Reply #5 on: 17 September 2018, 01:11:10 AM »
You're right, I was wrong, nothing has been fixed.  What I've discovered is that the exact same configuration of decks is used every game, but what changes is *which* of the two shuffled decks I start with. (Probably one always goes with the start player.)

The way this should work seems very clear to me. When you type "/undo" you can see that you have the choice of going back to *before* both players shuffle their decks, or just after. So, all it needs to do is work just like it says it will work. Then I can choose which behavior I want.