Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Confused by interation between Royal Carriage and Imp  (Read 97 times)

Offline josh bornstein

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Confused by interation between Royal Carriage and Imp
« on: 14 September 2018, 09:21:51 AM »
Game 18284744, Turn 14

I had Royal Carriage "in storage"...ready to play.  And an Imp in my hand, along with a few other terminal actions.  What I wanted to do was play Imp.  If a village showed up, then no problem--I'd play that, and then use the extra actions to play all my terminals.  If a village did not show up with those 2 cards from Imp, then I'd use RC to play Imp again, would get another two cards (and, hopefully, a village would then show up).

But the game does not allow this.  You have to play Imp and your next actions.  You can, then, use RC to repeat this second action, of course. 

But nothing in the wording of RC or Imp suggest that one can't play Imp twice.  After you play Imp, it is not mandatory that you play another action card.  So, you should be able to then RC it, to see a total of 4 cards (and, of course, if you wanted, to then play a 'virgin' action card after seeing all four Imp cards.

What am I missing?  Why does the online game not allow this?  (In my IRL Dominion games, using RC to play and replay Imp is not a controversial move).

Offline markus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 600
    • View Profile
Re: Confused by interation between Royal Carriage and Imp
« Reply #1 on: 14 September 2018, 09:57:20 AM »
I think you are just confused with the interface (and I admit that it's a bit confusing):
1) Play Imp
2) You may play an action from hand (note that you usually want to do that even if It's terminal). If you don't want to play it, click "Don't play".
3) You may call RC to replay the action that you played in 2) - if any --> click "Done Reacting" if you don't want to replay the action.
4) Now you can call Royal Carriage to replay Imp (via the log). The confusing thing is that it's called "• call a Royal Carriage to replay the last Action", when that actually means the Imp. Because at that point you're just done fully resolving Imp (even though the action you played in 2) was the last action you played)-

Offline josh bornstein

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: Confused by interation between Royal Carriage and Imp
« Reply #2 on: 14 September 2018, 10:21:11 AM »
Thanks Marcus.

I thought for sure that I already had tried what you said, using Undo.  I know that, while experimenting, I hit 'Undo' about 3 times, trying different things, but never could get it to work.  I'll try to load that game again, to see if I can manage it now.  And thanks for giving the step-by-step process.

Offline TimSharrock

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Confused by interation between Royal Carriage and Imp
« Reply #3 on: 14 September 2018, 11:09:20 AM »
It would be very helpful in this sort of case if the log said "to replay imp" or "to replay village"

Offline markus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 600
    • View Profile
Re: Confused by interation between Royal Carriage and Imp
« Reply #4 on: 14 September 2018, 11:13:16 AM »
I agree. While being in some "chain of actions", it say which card would be replayed. But when you're done with that and the alternative is playing an Action card from your hand, it just says "last action".