[Sorry if this is in the wrong forum. I am not sure if it's a bug or if I'm just not understanding the game's rules correctly.]
I played Exorcist on a Familiar. (which costs 3 coins + Potion). This allows me to gain a spirit card with a lower cost.
But when I played Exorcist on Familiar, I was allowed to gain an Imp. I did not expect this...I was assuming that Potion cards are completely separate from all other cards. So, for instance, I assume that if I Remodel a Familiar, I can't gain a regular 5 card like Mountebank or Festival. I can't even remodel a 3 + Potion into a regular 3 card like Village. Right? I can't remodel that Familiar into a Dutchy, or a Possession into a Province. I have a strong memory about various posts, along the line of, "Hey, a card that costs X + Potion is more 'expensive' than a non-Potion card that costs X, so why can't we remodel from Potion to non-Potion." But maybe I am remembering incorrectly.
If my memory is not playing tricks with me; I cannot figure out why you cannot upgrade (via Expand, Remodel, etc) going from Potion to non-Potion...but you CAN downgrade (via Exorcist). Is there a rule that specifically addresses this?
Related question: What about cards like Imp (it costs 2 plus has an "*" in its cost. Can a 2* card be remodeled into a 3 or 4 card? Remodeled into a regular 2 card? Into a zero cost card???