Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Tiny Error with Sceptre in Opponent's Discard Pile  (Read 338 times)

Offline EarlS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Tiny Error with Sceptre in Opponent's Discard Pile
« on: 16 September 2019, 04:14:11 AM »
When I saw a sceptre in my opponent's discard pile, it appeared to have some debt in its cost.

I guess it technically has some amount of debt in its cost, it's just that the amount is zero, so that hexagon's a bit confusing.

Offline Ingix

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1422
    • View Profile
Re: Tiny Error with Sceptre in Opponent's Discard Pile
« Reply #1 on: 16 September 2019, 09:01:01 AM »
Thanks for the report!

I tried to replicate this, but it didn't happen when I tried. Do you by chance know the game number of that game or against whom you played it?

Offline EarlS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: Tiny Error with Sceptre in Opponent's Discard Pile
« Reply #2 on: 17 September 2019, 06:32:08 PM »
Weeeeeeeeird! I can't replicate it either. And I've tried a LOT of stuff.

I can't remember the game or the opponent . . . but, like, that's a screencap. It happened!

Offline Ingix

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1422
    • View Profile
Re: Tiny Error with Sceptre in Opponent's Discard Pile
« Reply #3 on: 18 September 2019, 12:44:45 AM »
Yes, because it seems to be something that rarely happens, it having the game number would have been nice. Well, if I see it, I'll be sure to note it down.

Offline EarlS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: Tiny Error with Sceptre in Opponent's Discard Pile
« Reply #4 on: 29 September 2019, 06:40:21 AM »
I've seen it again twice now, with different cards in the discard pile. So it's definitely not a Sceptre thing.

I think it might be related to having Fortune in the kingdom.

I noticed it when spectating Dan Brooks' recent match. Game 31084629 on Turn 18, but I haven't been able to recreate it with Rattington.

When playing around with that seed, I also observed that Fortune sometimes loses the debt symbol in the opponent's discard pile. Part of the same issue?

Offline Ingix

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1422
    • View Profile
Re: Tiny Error with Sceptre in Opponent's Discard Pile
« Reply #5 on: 29 September 2019, 08:36:22 AM »
Yes, that could be. It might be that when the top card changes, from a card with debt cost to a card without (or vice versa), something may go wrong.

Thanks for the update!

Offline EarlS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: Tiny Error with Sceptre in Opponent's Discard Pile
« Reply #6 on: 29 September 2019, 03:49:57 PM »
YES! That's it.

You can load this game from my perspective, hit "End Actions" and "End Buys" and watch exactly what you describe happen when Lord Rattington completes his turn.

31115805