Login  |  Register

Author Topic: overlord, groundskeeper, and scepter  (Read 239 times)

Offline clarkmbaker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
overlord, groundskeeper, and scepter
« on: 04 May 2020, 04:07:20 AM »
Game 43046151 with cmbhexagon
M's turn 24
overlord a groundskeeper
scepter overlord a groundskeeper
does not get the groundskeeper point when estate purchased

Offline Ingix

  • Global Moderator
  • ***
  • Posts: 2397
    • View Profile
Re: overlord, groundskeeper, and scepter
« Reply #1 on: 04 May 2020, 09:31:34 AM »
The Groundskeeper reads in part:

While this is in play, when you gain a Victory card, +1VP.
[emphasis mine]

Due to the shapeshifter errata in September/Oktober 2019, Overlord (and similar cards) no longer "become" another card, they just play the other card, but leave it in the Supply:

Play a non-Command Action card from the Supply costing up to $5, leaving it there.
[emphasis mine]

Taking this together, this means that no Groundskeeper is in play in the scenario you described. That also means no Groundskeeper "gain VP" ability will trigger when a Vicory card is gained.

The shapeshifter errat made them worse with cards that have in-play effects, like Highway or Groundskeeper.