Login  |  Register

Author Topic: extra turns, in a tie game  (Read 267 times)

Offline josh bornstein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 412
    • View Profile
extra turns, in a tie game
« on: 04 May 2020, 04:50:35 AM »
There are several ways to get extra turns in a game:  Seize the Day, Outpost, Mission, Fleet...not to mention the evil and banished Possession.  (And maybe others that I'm not thinking of right now.).  Fine so far.  And, on the the game log, when you get an extra turn, the log shows it as two consecutive (for example) Turn 6.  I just tested this out, with Outpost and Seize the Day (#4306 5673, Turns 2 and 6, for example).

Again, fine so far.  I can see coding reasons why you'd want to keep turn numbers even between opponents.  Probably Turn 6a and 6b would have been more clear, but two 'Turn 6' is clear enough.  And it would be a very confusing game log if your Turn 6 happened right after my Turn 9.

BUT, at the end of a game, I think the computer just looks at the recognized number of turns and, if you're both showing 21 turns, then it calls the game a tie.  But this is not correct, according to the rules, which state that, in the event of a tie, the one with fewer turns (if applicable) is the winner.  I see nothing in any rule that says, "We will count "regular" turns but none of the extra turns, in calculating if players have the same number of turns in tie games."

Did I miss something in the rules?  (Sadly, when I've bought crappy "extra turn" cards/events to test it out; I've been unable to end up in a tie game with equal "regular" turns.)  So, sorry in advance if the game actually *does* add in those extra turns at the end of the game.  For my IRL games, we've had to just write down each time a player used Outpost (et al), and kept a running track, in case of a tie.  There's also been some debate about IRL games, if that running total of extra turns info must be shared with other players, or, if it's just good manners to do so.

Offline SkyHard

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
  • Blubb
    • View Profile
Re: extra turns, in a tie game
« Reply #1 on: 04 May 2020, 05:57:11 AM »

Offline josh bornstein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 412
    • View Profile
Re: extra turns, in a tie game
« Reply #2 on: 04 May 2020, 08:30:54 AM »
Much thanks.  So, it's just an error in the rules...at some point, presumably, it will be changed; to add something like, "Extra turns during the game are not counted as turns at the completion of the game, for the purpose of deciding tie games."

Extra turns were obviously not contemplated when the game was first created, and he's never gotten around to correcting this in the rules.  No worries.  Good to know what the rule actually is.

Offline Ingix

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2049
    • View Profile
Re: extra turns, in a tie game
« Reply #3 on: 04 May 2020, 09:21:22 AM »
I think (without wanting to look it up in each rulebook) that exception is spelled out for each card/effect that gives extra turns. The Menagerie rulebook for example says:

Quote
Seize the Day: The extra turn is like a normal turn, except that it does not count for the tiebreaker.

Offline josh bornstein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 412
    • View Profile
Re: extra turns, in a tie game
« Reply #4 on: 04 May 2020, 07:06:51 PM »
Ingix,
Do you have links to all those rulebooks?  Those would be super helpful.  Probably helpful enough to so many people that having a sticky with links to all the rules would be a good thing to have somewhere here (or even better, as a permanent button on the Dominion game page??).


Offline josh bornstein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 412
    • View Profile
Re: extra turns, in a tie game
« Reply #6 on: 05 May 2020, 02:22:57 AM »
Huge thanks.
Any way to stick these links in a sticky?  Perhaps at the top of the How To Play > FAQ sub-forum?

Offline Ingix

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2049
    • View Profile
Re: extra turns, in a tie game
« Reply #7 on: 05 May 2020, 10:06:21 AM »
I did that, thanks for the suggestion. You are right it makes sense to have it in a visible place, not "buried" here.