Login  |  Register

Author Topic: No gain from Border Village when exiled  (Read 195 times)

Offline skillwinlucklose

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
No gain from Border Village when exiled
« on: 15 May 2020, 01:27:18 PM »
Is this correct? I exiled a Border Village and did not get to gain a cheaper card. When I took the Border Village from exile I still got no cheaper card. Wasn't the card was "gained" when I exiled it?
game 44673726 ohio
Thanks

Online Ingix

  • Global Moderator
  • ***
  • Posts: 2200
    • View Profile
Re: No gain from Border Village when exiled
« Reply #1 on: 15 May 2020, 01:41:19 PM »
No, you never gained that Border Village. From the Menagerie rulebook:

Quote
Exiling a card from the Supply is not "gaining" the card, and will not cause "when you gain this"
abilities to happen. Discarding a card from your Exile mat is not gaining it either.

Offline David Goldfarb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: No gain from Border Village when exiled
« Reply #2 on: 10 June 2020, 03:37:07 AM »
It does seem weird that you can get cards into your deck without ever gaining them, but the rulebook is clear on this point.

Online Ingix

  • Global Moderator
  • ***
  • Posts: 2200
    • View Profile
Re: No gain from Border Village when exiled
« Reply #3 on: 10 June 2020, 10:07:30 AM »
Yes, it was possible before (like getting passed a card from Masquerade), but exiling is now a "major" way to do that.