Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Barge not working with Way of the Chameleon  (Read 63 times)

Offline SureCommaNot

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Barge not working with Way of the Chameleon
« on: 28 July 2020, 10:54:57 PM »
Can someone help me understand why I can't play Barge for a delayed +$3 using Way of the Chameleon. I'm not seeing anything in the rule book to prohibit this, and it seems to undermine the way Ways are supposed to function.

Offline cmilkman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Barge not working with Way of the Chameleon
« Reply #1 on: 29 July 2020, 05:02:54 AM »
My guess is that it's because barge is also a duration card, not just an action.  I'm not 100% on that though. 

Offline kieranmillar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Barge not working with Way of the Chameleon
« Reply #2 on: 29 July 2020, 08:19:06 AM »
Way of the Chameleon says "this turn" on its text to explicitly rule out using its effect on duration effects that activate on future turns. This was due to issues with remembering what you chose when playing IRL.

The official rule book is pretty clear:

"If you play a Duration card using Way of the Chameleon, only the +$ and +Cards you get that turn are affected; for example, if you play Merchant Ship (from Seaside) and use Way of the Chameleon, you will get +2 Cards this turn, but the normal +$2 next turn"