Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Way cards and Duration / Barge  (Read 79 times)

Offline dmyze

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Way cards and Duration / Barge
« on: 06 October 2020, 11:48:31 PM »
I played a duration card as a way of the chameleon. 

Barge should have given me +3 treasure on my next turn, but instead you just get the +3 cards. 

I think that's a bug.

Offline kieranmillar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: Way cards and Duration / Barge
« Reply #1 on: 07 October 2020, 08:23:10 AM »
It's not a bug. Reread the way carefully. Bolding mine:
Quote
Follow this card's instructions; each time that would give you +Cards this turn, you get +$ instead, and vice-versa.

The official rulebook explains more explicitly
Quote
If you play a Duration card using Way of the Chameleon, only the +$ and +Cards you get that turn are affected; for example, if you play Merchant Ship (from Seaside) and use Way of the Chameleon, you will get +2 Cards this turn, but the normal +$2 next turn.

Offline Ingix

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2289
    • View Profile
Re: Way cards and Duration / Barge
« Reply #2 on: 07 October 2020, 09:17:58 AM »
kieranmillar is right, this is be design. This way IRL you don't need to remember which/how many of your Merchant Ships were for +cards instead of +$. If you see a Duration card next turn with Way of the Chameleon in the kingdom, you do what it says on the card.

There are unfortunately cases where you need to remember if you used a Way next turn. When Way of the Mouse sets aside a Duration card, this can get problematic.