Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Interaction between War Chest and Charm  (Read 226 times)

Offline josh bornstein

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 506
    • View Profile
Interaction between War Chest and Charm
« on: 07 June 2022, 06:23:38 AM »
Game 102390343

I think this is actually a common event, and I recall games where it's happened with Charm + other cards.  (And maybe with 2 completely different non-Charm cards as well.)

I'm in my Buy stage, and putting my treasures out, and I come to Charm. (War Chest is still in my hand at this point.)  If I play Charm, and then pick the coins-plus-buy or the get-matching-cards options . . . I cannot add more of my treasure into the pile.  Any treasure still in my hand [e.g., War Chest, here] is "wasted."  But nothing in the text of Charm suggests that this will happen.

I mean, if I choose the "get equal value cards" option, then I understand, since I have sorta forced the online game to the card-buying phase of Buy.  But with the first option; all I have done is said to the game, "Add 2 coins to the treasure I've already put in, and add one more buy to my benefits."  In our IRL games, people routinely have been playing treasures after playing Charm.  Have we been actually breaking the rules all this time?

Is there something in the actually official rules that addresses/explains this?  Or is this result merely due to how the online game was programmed to function?

Offline Ingix

  • Global Moderator
  • ***
  • Posts: 3537
    • View Profile
Re: Interaction between War Chest and Charm
« Reply #1 on: 07 June 2022, 08:32:33 AM »
Game 102390343

I'm in my Buy stage, and putting my treasures out, and I come to Charm. (War Chest is still in my hand at this point.)  If I play Charm, and then pick the coins-plus-buy or the get-matching-cards options . . . I cannot add more of my treasure into the pile.  Any treasure still in my hand [e.g., War Chest, here] is "wasted."

That's a strange bug, and one that didn't happen in my reload of that game. I could play Charm first, choose either option and continue with War Chest and/or other unplayed Treasures normally.

Offline josh bornstein

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 506
    • View Profile
Re: Interaction between War Chest and Charm
« Reply #2 on: 07 June 2022, 10:24:13 AM »
Hmmm . . . interesting.  It definitely did not work for me.  I even tried (using Undo) a few different times, just to see what was going on.  But each time, after making and acting on my Charm decision, my Buy phase ended (which, obviously made it Lord Rat's turn).

Glad to know that it was an anomaly.  If it crops up again in a Charm kingdom, I'll make sure to test it out.

Offline dane

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
Re: Interaction between War Chest and Charm
« Reply #3 on: 08 June 2022, 04:30:11 PM »
Hmmm . . . interesting.  It definitely did not work for me.  I even tried (using Undo) a few different times, just to see what was going on.  But each time, after making and acting on my Charm decision, my Buy phase ended (which, obviously made it Lord Rat's turn).

Glad to know that it was an anomaly.  If it crops up again in a Charm kingdom, I'll make sure to test it out.
You say "after making and acting on my Charm decision" (my emphasis). That might reveal what you are doing wrong.  After making your Charm decision, you should continue to play your Treasures.  Only after you have played all that you want to play (which might well include making decisions for more Charms) should you buy anything.  At that stage the consequences of your Charm decision(s) will take effect.

Offline josh bornstein

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 506
    • View Profile
Re: Interaction between War Chest and Charm
« Reply #4 on: 10 June 2022, 11:29:47 AM »
Thanks for the response, Dane.  I had thought I had been clear in my post(s), but I could have been more clear.

After I took care of Charm, my turn ended.  Of course, if I had still be allowed to remain in Buy, then I could have added more treasure. 

The problem was not that I was still in Buy but unable to add any unplayed coins that were still in my hand.  The problem was that Buy was over, Lord Rat was proceeding with his turn, etc..

What I'll do next time this hiccup occurs; I'll take screenshots of the log, and maybe that will help identify the problem.