And finally, I have discovered that yes in fact clicking cancel while the system tries to reconnect you does send you back to the lobby, where you are able to start another game while your original opponent waits. At this point I have found you are not able to rejoin the game, even as a spectator. Not sure if there are any further investigations I can do on this matter at the moment. Hope this information is helpful.
