Show posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Show posts Menu

Topics - Watno

If the player to your right gained a card that is not (left) in the supply, you should be able to choose that card and fail to gain it (gaining nothing). See Donald's ruling here:
Other Bugs / Known Other Bugs
09 January 2017, 07:42:42 PM

  • Undo sometimes undoes wrong number of steps
  • Score screen sometimes not appearing after game end
  • Shelters selection in kingdom slection stuck on yes aeven after turning it from Yes to Random after a game at the table.
  • wrong number of cards in 5/6p game (
  • Revealed cards not removed from deck
Card Bugs / Known Card Bugs
09 January 2017, 07:17:11 PM
Specific card bugs

  • Blessed Village:

    • Incorrect game state: When a boon is taken and received when it is not the taking player's turn (this is IMO only possible by gaining Blessed Village when it is not the gaining player's turn), the boon will work, but will not return to the boon pile at the correct time if it is one of the three 'Keep this until Clean-up'-boons (The Field's Gift, The Forest's Gift, and The River's Gift). They should return during the next cleanup phase that is happening, but they do return during the next cleanup phase of the gaining player. This makes a difference if the boon pile needs to be shuffled in between the time it should have returned and the time it is returned. This was originally reported for the special case when these boons were taken and recived between turns.

      • Workaround: None.
      • Forum thread (forum.ds) Pathological Donate Questions
      • exists in 1.5.3.X: Load game #51517181 as crlundy, choose to receive The Field's Gift now, then play out your next turn and observe at the end of that turn that The Field's Gift is discarded. 

  • Ducat:

    • Forced play: If you have Ducat in hand and repay debt, the Ducat will always be played, even if the amount of $ you have created this turn is enough to repay the chosen amount of debt. This prevents using the Ducat as a trash card for Bat, for example.

      • Workaround: None.
      • Forum thread: Ducat is a forced play when having debt
      • exists in 1.5.3.X: Load game #51516420 as crlundy, then try to repay only 3 Debt without playing Ducat.

  • Graverobber:

    • Bot/Stuck: When the AI plays a Graverobber, it may become stuck. It seems to be happening when there is something for Graverobber to do (something appropriate in hand or trash).

      • Workaround: none.
      • exists in 1.5.3.X: Load game #51677238 as Ingix. End your turn, then the AI will play Graverobber, but then not proceed to do anything.

  • Mining Village:

    • Bot stuck: When a bot has a hand with Mining Village as the only Action card and has Villagers, playing the Mining Village makes the bot get stuck. Either removing the Villagers or adding an Action card to the hand solves the problem, so I assume the reason is the interaction between the "delayed question" of Mining Village for trashing, the Villagers and the only way to decline the trash is to "End Actions" as a user.

      • Workaround: None
      • Source: : DBM000 on discord.
      • present in 1.5.3.X: Load #51683129 as Ingix. End your turn, then watch Lord Rat play Mining Village and get stuck.

  • Plaza:

    • Bot stuck: When a bot plays Plaza, has no more Action cards in hand but has Villagers, the bot becomes stuck.

      • Forum: Bot Freezes on Plaza
      • Workaround: None.
      • present in 1.5.4: #64024168 as serakfalcon. The bot has played Plaza but doesn't continue.

  • Possession:

      • UI: When you buy Transport while your are possessing an opponent, there is no UI to select the exiled Action cards you may want to topdeck. See Transport/Possession below.
      • UI stuck: In a game with 3 or more players, if player A possesses player B, and during the Possession turn forces B to also play a Possession, then the next turn will be player B possessing player C. During that turn, player A's client will incorrectly present the game as though he was player C (among other things, player C's name will be in the lower left). Since he can't see player C's hand, they are shown as card back. If player A is required to do anything with his own cards (like discard them for a discard effect), he cannot do that and the game becomes stuck.

        • Workaround: None
        • Source: discord, reported by caitlyn
        • present in 1.3.9: #10361116, #10422078
  • Priest:

    • Rule: Can interact incorrectly with Way of the Chameleon. See the description there for more details.

  • Scepter:

    • Bot/stuck: If the bot plays a Scepter, the game will become stuck. The bot doesn't seem to buy Secpter, but may end up with one for any number of reasons, e.g. continuing a game where one opponent left.

      • Mitigation: Try not not give the bot Scepters via Masquerade, Jester, etc.
      • present in #51531068 as Lord Rattington (a bot needs to take the place of the originl Ingix): The bot will play Scepter and become stuck.

  • Small Castle:

    • Rule: Small Castle doesn't allow choosing to trash a Castle from your hand when there is none in hand (in order to do nothing). Similiarly, if Small Castle is not in play when it's effect resolves, one cannot choose to trash it for no effect.

      • Workaround: None
      • Forum thread: Small Castle
      • present in 1.5.3.X: Load #51514933 as crlundy and play Small Castle.

  • Snowy Village:

    • Bot/stuck: If a bot plays Snowy Village and has Villagers, the bot becomes stuck. Likely the game's question how many Villagers to convert is the reason.

      • Workaround: None
      • present in 1.5.3.X: Load #52051976 as Ingix, then end your turn. Watch as the bot plays Snowy Village, gets all the effects, then becomes stuck.

  • Star Chart:

    • Rule/Fleet: Star Chart will not ask if the shuffle is for drawing cards for the next hand on a turn the game ends. Hoewever, with Fleet bought, there may be additional turns, and Start Chart should ask, but doesn't.

      • Workaround: None
      • Present in 1.5.3.X: Load #51519080 as crlundy, click End Actions, and buy an Estate.

  • Temple:

    • Bot/Stuck: When a Bot plays Temple, it may become stuck and the game does not continue.

      • Workaround: None
      • Forum thread: bot freezes after playing temple
      • present in 1.5.3.X: Load game #51829029 as Ingix. End your turn, watch the bot play Temple, get 1 VP and become stuck deciding what to trash from a 1 Copper, 2 Estates hand.

  • Transport:

    • UI (with Possession): When you buy Transport while possessing another player, you don't get shown their exiled Action cards, so you can't do the "topdeck an exiled Action card" option.

      • Workaround: None
      • Discord source: Possession, Masq and Transport
      • present in 1.5.3.X: Load game #52399149 as  folivora. Undo to Turn 5 - Lord Rattington [Possession]. Hover over "your" (the opponent you're possessing) info bar and see that Possession and Masquerade are exiled. Buy Transport, but you don't get the exiled cards shown to topdeck.

  • Villa:

    • Rule: If gained during the buy phase by an effect that will gain more cards immediately (Stonemason overpay, Ball, Crowned Horn of Plenty), the return to action phase will happen with a slight delay, which may cause certain cards to not work as they should (Crown still in 'buy phase mode', Peddler still cost reduced).

      • Workaround: None
      • Forum thread: Villa transition to Action phase happens slightly too late
      • present in 1.5.3.X: Load game #51514049 as crlundy and overpay for Stonemason by clicking on Villa. You can get the Peddler as second card that incorrectly is considered costing $4 only.

  • Villagers:

    • UI: During your Action phase, if the only thing you can do is spend Villagers, you are not given a chance to spend them and instead your Buy phase automatically begins.

      • Workaround: None
      • present in 1.5.3.X: Load game #51520215 as crlundy, reveal a Province, gain Diadem, and then observe you do not get a chance to spend Villagers for Diadem.

  • Way of the Chameleon:

    • Rule: If you play 2 Priests during a turn, one normally and one using Way of the Chameleon, and later that turn (after both have completely resolved) trash another card, you will either get +$4 or +4 cards for the trashing, instead of +$2 and +2 cards. It looks like the given bonus ($ or cards) is what the first played Priest should give.

      • Workaround: None
      • present in 1.5.3.X: Load game #54322044 as Ingix. The last play (trashing with Lurker) tries to replace +$4 with giving +4 cards, but should give +$2.

  • Way of the Frog:

    • Rule/UI: Way of the Frog seems sometimes to be automatically applied first in cases where other effects also trigger from discarding the card played using Way of the Frog. Examples exclude Hermit and Prince but not Travellers (which work correctly by giving you the choice).

      • Workaround: None
      • present in 1.5.3.X: Load game #52048310  as Ingix, then end your buy phase. The game automatically topdecks your Hermit and gains you a Madman, wenn trashing the Hermit might be the desired option. Similar #52048686 for Way of the Frog + Prince.
    • Rule: When Way of the Frog is used with an Action card that is played when it's not its player's turn (say Black Cat), that Action card will be discarded at end of that turn, instead of being topdecked.

      • Workaround: None
      • Source: Discord by eskoglund
      • present in 1.5.4: Load game #61362560 and look at turn 22 of the (original) player Mollo8. Both players play 2 Black Cats using Way of the Frog, but only Mollo8's are topdecked, the Cats played by their opponent are discarded.

  • Way of the Turtle:

    • Forced play: If you are under effect of an opponent's Enchantress, a previously Turtled card that becomes the first card played that turn will always be played "normally" and thus effected by Enchantress. The option to use Way of the Turtle again on that card is not given.

  • Zombie Spy:

    • Game stuck: If you have Herald play Necromancer and that Necromancer plays Zombie Spy while you have an empty deck and empty discard pile (just "empty deck" here), the game becomes stuck. This does not happen when you just play Zombie Spy or Necromancer --> Zombie Spy on an empty deck. Zombie Mason, which also interacts with the top of deck, doesn't have this problem. In addition, playing Zombie Spy directly with Herald (no Necormancer) on an empty deck works as well.

Cleanup phase

  • If several identical Traveller's are played and you want to Scheme just one of them, you have no idea which one to set to "keep", so the correct one is topdecked. This is a special case of a bug mentioned in the Known Interface problems thread.

Bot problems
Some cards will or can make the bot getting stuck. The bot usually doesn't buy those cards, but they can get one anyway due to effects like Swindler/Barbarian, or because the game is a continuation of a game between human players where one resigned.

  • The bot will get stuck playing: Secret Passage, Weaver.
  • The bot may  get stuck playing: Black Market, Capital City, Fortune, Graverobber, Mining Village, Plaza, Scepter, Snowy Village, Storyteller, Swashbuckler, Temple.
  • When it has Villagers, the bot may  get stuck playing: Hamlet(106452980).
Game Log Issues / Known Log Issues
09 January 2017, 05:10:04 PM

  • Incorrect information: Secret Passage says that a card was topdecked even though it wasn't (necessarily).

    • Workaround: none
    • Forum thread: Secret Passange and "Top Decking"
    • present in 1.3.14: Load game #9701090 as rphilip. Undo to turns 15 or 17 of rphilip, replay the Secret Passage, put a card in any place except the top position of the deck. The log still says it was topdecked.

  • Incorrect entry: Log doesn't say "you buy" when buying from Black Market. (present in 1.3.14)
  • Incorrect formating: Arena discards and VP gains are (wrongly) indented by one level. (present in 1.3.14) The same is true for skipping drawing a card due to the -1 card token (see too much indent for removing -Card token from this subforum). (present in 1.3.14)

  • Extra turns: While the card names for Outpost, Mission and Possession have of course been localized, the log will use the English card name in the log when describing the turn, even when using another interface language. That mean an extra Possession turn for Ingix would be listed as "Zug 21 - Ingix [Possession]" in German, even though the Possession card is otherwise correctly referred to as 'Besessenheit'.

  • Set aside cards: When cards like Save or Archive set cards aside, they are listed in the log (for the player who can see them). When the cards are later returned to hand and afterwards trashed, some log entries have 'forgotten' what card was set aside and only mention "a card" after a page reload. That is true for the log entry that says which card was set aside by Safe, as well as the log entry for Archiv that mentions it when it is later returned to hand.

  • cost of $0: With Develop after trashing a $1 card, the log should show the request for the player to gain a $0 and a $2 card. The $0 option however seems to be (partially) missing from the text, as though the phrase "0 coin" has been removed. This may affect other cards mentioning $0 (not yet checked)

  • Settlers/Bustling Vilage: When viewed from an opponent's side, the log does not say that a Copper/Settlers card was revealed, and just generally says that 'a card' was put into the hand.

    • Workaround: None
    • Forum thread: Settlers
    • present in 1.4.1.

  • Looking through cards in the discard pile: Some cards let a player look through their discard pile. When viewed from opponent's side, the log lists the number of cards looked through, which is information an opponent is not entitled to. Tested with Settlers, Bustling Village, Hermit, Inn (gain)

    • Workaround: None
    • Forum thread: Settlers
    • present in 1.4.1: Load game 19449860 as Lord Rattington. Look into the log in turns 4,6 and 9 of the current Rattington (former me) to see that the number of cards looked at by me is alway listed.

  • Topdecking own cards (including information leak): Some cards let a player topdeck a card that they know/can see. At least in the case of Herald's overbuy ability, the log doesn't list the card name, just "a card". For other cards (like Artisan) this works better by listing the actual card.

    • Workaround: Hitting page reload (Ctrl-R on Firefox and Chrome) will show the card in the log. Unfortunately, this works for the opponent as well, who shouldn't be able to get this information.
    • Forum thread: Cards topdecked by Herald appears as "Card"
    • present in 1.4.1: Load game 21438586 as madd4math. Got back to turn 8 and replay the buying of the Herald.

  • Incorrect action text for Mint: When buying Mint and another on-buy effect also triggers, all effects are listed in the log for selection, where the entry for trashing the in-play Treasure for Mint says "trash Mint".

    • Workaround: None.
    • Forum thread: "Trash Mint"
    • present in Load game 22466484 as Ingix. With Haggler and some Treasures in play, buy Mint.

  • Taken card revealed for Mountain Village on reload: When playing Mountain Village and choosing a card from the discard pile, the opponents see just that a card was taken (but not which). On a page reload, the card taken is revealed.

    • Workaround: None.
    • mentioned: by pppppppppp on Discord 12/29/2019
    • present in 1.4.7: Load game 34115855 as pppppppppp. See that you can see which cards your opponent took with Montain Village in their turn 6.

  • Effect not logged: Sometimes a card's vanilla bonus effect isn't fully logged when it should be:

AI bugs / Known Bot Issues
09 January 2017, 04:29:54 PM

  • when opponent plays Vault while bot's hand is empty
  • when playing Lurker or Graverobber
  • when opponent play Envoy from Herald
  • when opponent plays Possession, at the start of your next turn (in this case, you can continue by reconnecting)
  • princed develop is sometimes brings up "Waiting for Lord rattington" at start of turn (

Clearly stupid plays:

  • playing Bank first
  • trashing valuable cards
  • sometimes trashing whole deck
  • always naming Gold for Contraband
  • not using Counterfeit to trash (but still buying lots)
  • buying Potions and not using them
  • buying Estate while affected by Swamp Hag
  • choosing Estate to be discarded for Envoy/action when there are no actions left
  • ends the game while behind
  • not using moat
  • not guessing known top card with Mystic
  • always discarding to Torturer
  • not revealing Provinces for Tournament
  • buying Estate with Baths in the kingdom
  • not revealing with Legionary
  • overvaluing some cards and buying nothing else
When you gain Emporium and have other when-gain effects active, you get to choose the order.

Since it doesn't matter when you gain the VP, I think that should always happen first without giving you a choice.