Inheritance and Aristocrats

Previous topic - Next topic

leafyscreen

Invest Event and Aristocrat.

Game # 165613421

I invested in Aristocrat which made my estates into Aristocrats.

Turn 11 played an Estate. Did not get 3 actions.

Turn 13. Played an Aristocrat for 3 actions. Played an Estate, got 3 more actions. Played another estate and got 3 more actions. Played a 2nd Aristocrat, got 3 cards.


It looks like the Invest is not working correctly with the Invest.



Ingix

The name of the event you are talking about is Inheritance (from Adventures). Invest is another event from Menagerie.

That aside, the wording of Inheritance changed in 2021, it now reads:

QuoteOnce per game: Set aside a non-Command non-Duration Action card from the Supply costing up to $4. Move your Estate token to it. (During your turns, Estates are also Command Actions with "Play the card with your Estate token, leaving it there.")

Before that change, the Estates actually became the set-aside card, including getting the name.

With that wording, you would have been right in your assumptions how your scenarios play out. But under the new wording above, your Estates are still named "Estate" and not "Aristocrat", so every time you play an Estate which then plays the Aristocrat, the Aristocrat effect will only count the 'real' Aristocrats in play, not the Estates.

For example:
QuoteTurn 11 played an Estate. Did not get 3 actions.

That's correct because there are 0 Aristocrats in play.

The results in other scenarioes can be explained by the same argument.

leafyscreen

Right, Inheritance. Glad I saved the game #.

I have the IRL set and that has the original language on the card and in the instructions. I wasn't aware of the rewording, thus my questioning what happened online.

Thanks for clearing that up.

I know there are numerous cards and other things that have had errata and rewording. So if something odd happens online, I guess I need to compare the online wording to the IRL card wording when this type of thing happens.